Art in Stonnington

Stonnington’s art collection is a dynamic collection of contemporary and public artworks by emerging, mid-career and established Australian artists.

The impressive and ever-growing collection is housed throughout the municipality and includes work by: 

  • Daniel Boyd
  • Tony Clark
  • Maree Clarke
  • Rennie Ellis
  • Carly Fischer
  • Emily Floyd
  • Marco Fusinato
  • Nathan Gray
  • David Jolly
  • Nicholas Jones
  • William Mackinnon
  • Rob McHaffie
  • John Nixon
  • David Noonan
  • Rosslynd Piggott
  • Alex  Pittendrigh
  • Renee So
  • David  Stephenson
  • James Tylor
  • Michelle Ussher
  • Judith Van Heeren
  • Louise Weaver

Click the image to view the gallery.


Art in the public domain

The City of Stonnington proudly presents the work of artists to enhance its many parks and gardens and, in the development and planning of new public spaces, incorporates artworks by living artists for all to enjoy. The Commission of Public Art for Stonnington is guided by the Art in the Public Domain Policy.

These works include:

  • David Bromley’s Muscle Boy gracefully presides over the kids playground in South Yarra (link).
  • Peter D Cole’s That’s Life enhances Maddock Street beside Windsor Station (link).
  • Emily Floyd's sculpture An Unfolding Space is at Phoenix Park, Malvern East (link).
  • Jonathan Jones’ untitled (wilam) is located on the banks of the Yarra River on Alexandra Avenue opposite Herring Island and just north of the Herring Island Punt and Kanteen cafe (link).
  • Paul Juraszek’s Sun and Moon bronze figures dominate the corner of High and Glenferrie Roads opposite the Malvern Town Hall (link).
  • Kathy Temin's sculpture Garden Islands is located in Claremont Street, South Yarra (link).

For further information or to discuss the possibility of a donation for the City, please contact the Arts and Culture Unit on 8290 1333.

Click the image to view the gallery.

Art Acquisition Panel

Stonnington’s Art Acquisition Panel comprises three art industry professionals who independently advise Council on the acquisition or commission of art for the City. The panel comprises Louise Weaver (artist and Lecturer, RMIT School of Art), Helen Hughes (Curator - Research, Monash University Museum of Art) and Samantha Comte (Curator / Exhibitions Coordinator, The Ian Potter Museum of Art). Previous members have included Charlotte Day, Rebecca Coates, Bill Sampson and David Hurlston.


Related Links