Economic Recovery Committee

1. Overview

Establishing an Economic Recovery Committee was endorsed by Council on Monday 15 June. This committee will work with business leaders to make smart decisions with long term benefits.

The committee will identify and implement strategies and plans to achieve key recovery goals. This may include new and re-focused grant streams as well as targeted programs, partnerships and advocacy to:

  • increase visitation and encourage return of customers to existing businesses
  • attract new businesses and employees to Stonnington
  • enhance business capability to attract, connect and service customers
  • increase locally based procurement
  • enhance Stonnington partnerships and industry strengths
  • support mental health and resilience of business owners
  • support the arts and cultural industry to provide safe, engaging events and activities.

Members of the Economic Recovery Committee include:

  • Jacqui Weatherill, City of Stonnington (Chair) 
  • Zelman Ainsworth, CBRE Advisory and Transaction Services
  • Chris Balfour, City of Stonnington
  • Eddy Boscariol, City of Stonnington
  • Nancy Collins, Swinburne University of Technology
  • Stef Dadon, Twoobs Shoes
  • Andy Dinan, Mars Gallery
  • Stuart Draffin, City of Stonnington
  • Tommy McIntosh, Tommy Collins
  • Linda Mellors, Regis Aged Care
  • Dan Nicolls, Victorian Government Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions
  • Justin O'Donnell, Chapel Street Precinct Association 
  • Dante Peel, CoDevelop Advisory
  • Joey Scandizzo, Joey Scandizzo Salon
  • Andy Simpson, Bounce Audio
  • Rowina Thomas, Lyall Hotel and Spa
  • Michael Whitehead, Vicinity Centres

Presidents of City of Stonnington precinct associations will rotate on the Committee.

4. Initial City of Stonnington COVID-19 response

Reduce direct charges for residents – Ongoing

  • Reduced parking enforcement throughout State of Emergency period.
  • Provided free parking at selected car parks until September 2020.

Reduce direct charges for businesses - Ongoing

  • Issued food, health and footpath trading permit refunds for period 1 April to 30 September 2020.
  • Provided rental relief for food businesses at Council premises.

Support local business owners – Ongoing

  • Introduced a new ‘business hotline’ and strengthened our business concierge program.
  • Adopted seven day payment terms for suppliers throughout State of Emergency period.
  • Provided webinars, online services and information for traders.
  • Ongoing liaison with business and precinct associations.
  • Provided additional financial support to our precincts to market themselves as restrictions ease.
  • Provided advice for hospitality businesses on safely re-opening as restrictions ease.
  • Responded to community reports regarding social distancing compliance and provided education to businesses on enhancing safety measures.


Support safety of community members accessing businesses and public areas - Ongoing

  • In partnership with Citywide, implemented a large-scale cleaning program in activity centres and parks.
  • Successfully advocated on behalf of the Stonnington community for consistent social distancing measures in major supermarket chains.