Former mayors and councillors

Mayors are always referred to by this title, regardless of gender. A mayoress is the female companion of a mayor (not necessarily by marriage), and a consort is the male companion.

Stonnington’s former mayors and councillors

Download a complete list of the City of Stonnington's former mayors and councillors.

Stonnington's current and former mayors and councillors(PDF, 321KB)

Follow this link to view the details of the current mayor and councillors.

Gardiner and Malvern mayors and councillors

Download a complete list of former chairmen/presidents/mayors of the municipalities of Gardiner and Malvern:

Malvern/Gardiner Mayors(PDF, 21KB) 

Download a complete list of former councillors:

Malvern/Gardiner Councillors(PDF, 307KB)  

The City of Malvern's first female mayor was Cr Ann Morrow, who was elected in 1979.

Prahran mayors and councillors

Download a complete list of former Prahran chairmen/mayors:

Prahran Mayors(PDF, 35KB)

Download a complete list of former Prahran councillors:

Prahran Councillors(PDF, 41KB)

The City of Prahran’s first female mayor was Cr Mary Duffy, who was elected in 1984.

Every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of these lists. Some errors have occurred due to the shifting of dates for elections (see below), and others may have occurred due to a by-election being overlooked.

Elections in the former City of Prahran

The first election was held in February 1856. Elections continued to be held in February until 1864, when they were moved to August. Until 1875, the annual general meeting was held in November, and the new mayor elected. In at least one case (1866), the mayor at the time was not re-elected as a councillor in the August election, even though he still had three months of his mayoral term left. As a result, he had to resign as the mayor as he did not have a seat on council, and an interim mayor had to be elected. So, until 1875, for any given council (February-February, later August-August), there were two mayors, as decided at the November AGM.

Initially there were only seven councillors elected, but this increased to nine in 1864, and 12 in 1888 when the ward system was introduced. Three councillors stood for re-election in any given year, and - at least in the early years - the three successful new candidates were elected for a period of one, two or three years depending on the number of votes obtained (i.e. the person winning the most votes was awarded a three-year term, the next person a two-year term etc.). For the early years, the elections appear to have been held at a public council meeting by show of hands, with the option of a public poll to be called. For example, on 19 February 1861, a show of hands by 337 people elected Chambers, Goodman and Crews. However, Mr John Palmer, supported by five other ratepayers, demanded a poll, which was conducted the following day between 8am and 4 pm at three local polling booths. A total of 2230 votes were recorded which elected Chambers, Goodman and Fellows (i.e. Crews lost his seat to Fellows).

Elections in the former City of Malvern

When the cities of Malvern and Prahran were amalgamated to form the City of Stonnington, the new municipality was run by state government-appointed administrators from June 1994 to March 1996. During this time, the municipal year was moved into line with the financial year (1 July to 30 June). The first elections for the City of Stonnington were held on 16 March 1996, with councillors then electing Stonnington’s first mayor, Cr John Chandler. Councillors were elected for a three year term of office. In 2004, council elections were moved from March to November, and a four-year term of office was introduced. Council elections are currently held in October.

Franchise (voting) entitlements

The Municipal Institutions Act of 1854 granted male householders resident in the district for more than three months the right to vote at municipal elections, including tenants whose name appeared as the occupant in Council's rate books. This changed in 1863 with the Municipal Government Act, whereby a property qualification was introduced: ‘all persons’ were entitled to up to three votes, depending on the value of their property holdings in the municipality (a system known as ‘plural voting’); evidence of which can be seen in the electoral and voters’ rolls. This initially included female property owners, although they lost this right in 1865, before being granted the right to vote in municipal elections again in 1903. Plural voting remained in place until 1969.

The franchise was extended to include all adult residents, regardless of property ownership, in 1983. Non-resident ratepayers could still apply for a vote in the ward(s) where they owned property. This form of multiple voting was abolished in 2004 by an amendment to the Act, allowing only a single vote per person for the municipality.