New Council sworn in

Published on 05 November 2020

Council chamber.jpg

Five new and four returning Councillors were elected to the City of Stonnington Council in the 2020 Local Government Elections.

Following the election results being declared on Thursday 5 November, we welcome new Councillors Alexander Lew, Polly Morgan, Kate Hely, Mike Scott and Nicki Batagol who, with returning Councillors Jami Klisaris, Matthew Koce, Marcia Griffin and Melina Sehr, will serve a four year term in office.

In the presence of CEO Jacqui Weatherill,  the nine-person Council was sworn in on Monday 9 November, at an outdoor ceremony on the steps of the Malvern Town Hall.

CEO Jacqui Weatherill said despite the challenges of a mid-pandemic Election, the process was extremely well managed by the Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC).

“I congratulate all Councillors on their election, and look forward to working with the new Council on the opportunities and challenges ahead,” Ms Weatherill said.

“I thank the VEC for a smooth election period despite the restrictions imposed on candidates and indeed ratepayers.

“I take this opportunity to thank all candidates for the professionalism and respect that was on display throughout the campaign.”

At the 23 November Council meeting the new Council will decide on a Mayor who will hold office for the next 12 or 24 months.

The City of Stonnington community is represented by nine Councillors across three wards:

 East Ward North Ward  South Ward 
Cr Jami Klisaris  Cr Marcia Griffin  Cr Nicki Batagol 
Cr Alexander Lew  Cr Kate Hely  Cr Mike Scott 
Cr Polly Morgan  Cr Matthew Koce  Cr Melina Sehr 


For contact details visit the Mayor and Councillor page.