Nestled in between a number of apartments and residential properties, Surrey Park, one of the Council’s 27 off-leash dog parks, is a small oval shaped grass area with walking paths and recycled timber seating around the perimeter.
The park is around 60m square in size and includes a number of environmental features including water sensitive urban design gardens to filter run-off and reduce watering requirements, porous paving and native vegetation; medium height trees and bushes, that attract a variety of local birds.
Surrey Park was constructed in 2014, following the closure of the Surrey Park Depot which operated from 1907 to mid 2007.
The Depot, well known at the time for engineer William Calder (1860-1928)’s ‘municipal destructor’ which burnt domestic waste to produce electricity, operated as a waste disposal facility until 1965 at which time the ‘municipal destructor’ was rebuilt and in 1977 de-commissioned following instructions from the Environmental Protection Authority.
The Depot switched from waste incineration to transfer, seeing the ‘municipal destructor’ replaced by a baling machine that produced medium-density compressed bales of refuse.
The site continued to operate as a waste disposal facility until its closure on 1 July 2007, the land was subdivided and sold, with the site abutting Surrey Road retained for the construction of the park.
The nearest public transport services are:
Use Public Transport Victoria's Journey planner.